Writing Challenge: Day 10

Prompt: Write about something you feel strongly about

There are few things I can debate fully, but there are some. Let’s choose something that is at the forefront of the country right now. Abortion rights.

Since the Supreme Court handed down its 1973 decisions in Roe v. Wade and Doe v. Bolton, states have constructed a lattice work of abortion law, codifying, regulating and limiting whether, when and under what circumstances a woman may obtain an abortion.

Now, since abortion is legal by the federal government, I don’t see the point in trying to outlaw it. The Supreme Court would have to overturn Roe v. Wade, which would be a HUGE, monumental step backward in our country.

The woman carrying the baby has the right to choose what she does with her body. I don’t condone the use of abortion as a form of birth control (which I knew a girl in high school who did this), but I do support having the OPTION to terminate, given situations that support the decision to terminate.

Say I was pregnant and the baby is sick (terminally or have a life filled with pain), I would want the option to terminate the pregnancy.

Again, I fully support the choice of adoption over the choice of abortion, but I don’t think the President or the Federal Government has the right to tell me what I can or cannot do with my own body.

I know this is a controversial topic, but I would like to hear well thought out replies to this.

Did you miss Writing Challenge: Day 9? Read it here.

One thought on “Writing Challenge: Day 10

Leave a Reply

